This aint a scene…its a god damn arms raise….

fallout boy….yes….

tell me this….as a whole bunch of generations of youth…are we ever taken seriously….we’ve gone through the rebellion of 15, 16, 17 and even 21 and 22….but how many lives have we touched?? how many opinions have we influenced and how many rules have we broken???have we walked the walk to talk the talk?we have so much of energy….barely contained…do we put it to good use??

there was a time when we believed that rules are meant to be broken…and then we came to an age where we actually broke them….and thus dawned the realization that rules when broken came with serious consequences…..so we learned those lessons…one after another….and in time we learn to teach them to others….experience is a reality check….there’s no value to it….its infinite…..its forever…..

I remember so long ago….talking to a little boy with his little head all shaven…listening to his story….one brother dead in mulaithivu….one brother at home after losing a limb in kilinochchi…another brother still at war…..and the parents chose his path for him….he was studying to be a monk….he was only eight….reality bites….and that was a first for me….once bitten….you’re never the same…..the friendly neighborhood Spiderman comes to mind….

time…a kaleidoscope of colors…one after another….contrasting….blending…….phases of life……changes…….time…….we have so much of it left……so much of it to change the world…..and then there’s the man/woman in the mirror…….

who am I??? do I know where I stand…..am I grounded….or do I take flight without reason…..do I love with all my heart….give with all my heart…..do I fight for myself….do I fight for what I believe in…..no matter how small…..do I give up…..give in…..or am I steadfast….

Who am I???

I am tired of not being heard….I will speak……for where there’s a man who has no voice there are shadows singing….jewel….I believe in the discipline of silence. that being said I can talk for hours about it…..George Bernard Shaw….

Passion…we’re all so passionate about our lives….about the trifling miniscule moments…..it’s the passion that drives us to do what we do……it’s the good koththu and great friends that motivate us….it’s the heart breaks that warn us that we have given our heart and soul to what we do…..poverty stole the golden shoes but it didn’t steal the laughter….jewel again….

let me see….all that ranting and raving was about us……you…me…..everyone else out there like/unlike us……fighting for a reason…..to identify a purpose in our lives…..to know ourselves……to change our world…..fighting tooth and nail…..

the story doesn’t end here…..time will come with more vibrant shades of red green and blue….these arms will raise….and stay raised for justice, peace……a tomorrow….with clean air and a clean conscience….

it aint over till we say it’s over…..bite that….

Anuradhi W

Anu is a member of Beyond Borders, a member of SLYP, a budding filmmaker, a full-time business analyst and the BlogAdict behind RealityBites. Her part-time and weekend activities are unknown.

Posted on 07/18/2007, in Identity, Opinions, Peace-Conflict-Governance, Sri Lanka, Youth-Culture-Society. Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Great stuff 🙂

Leave a Reply

